Texas Child Support Review Process (CSRP)

by David
(Alexandria, VA)

The Attorney General's Office sent me a document requesting I attend a Child Support Review Process after my ex requested a modification. The purpose of this meeting was to allow the "parents" to negotiate the terms of child support, visitation, modification, and so on without going to court. Once the OAG got a copy of my financial records, they cancelled the meeting and said it will go to court. They are seeking the full 20% of my net income. Essentially, no negotiation between my ex and I ever took place. When I spoke with the main office in Austin, they agreed that the paper was wrong and that the state would follow the guidelines of 20%. It's amazing this document has been in circulation throughout the state for 2 years and no one challenged it until now. So, the real reason for this meeting was that they wanted me to show up and agree to their terms only. Can't really call it a negotiation process when the OAG only follows the guidelines. Now I'm scheduled for court, what a good way to start the year! Can you say "DECEPTION"?

Comments for Texas Child Support Review Process (CSRP)

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
OAG letting fathers off because mom works
by: Angelia Rightmer

We had a child support review meeting. My ex did not show. The OAG entered an order but never did anything with it. I work so I was not on their list. At the time they assured me that it would be retroactive back to the date of the meeting. They never did anything with the Order and now he walked away with not paying a years worth of child support. The State of Texas WORKING FOR YOU!!!! They only work for you if you do not have a job.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Negotiation VS Extortion
by: Anonymous

It's a shame how this works. The so called "negotiation" was more like an extortion. Being in the military and supporting multiple dependents played no role in being raped for 700 dollars a month. There was no negotiation, only "this is what you are paying". Ridiculous, especially when you have 7 other kids you are supporting on a junior enlisted salary. 2 years....that's all I am going to say. We will get by with the good grace of god.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
It is about the children
by: Anonymous

Each parent should contribute to their children, that means financially, emotionally, mentally and physically. My ex-husband has no contact with our two children. I allow my children to call, text or email him, but he never responds or answers his calls.. I lie to my children telling them that maybe he is just really busy. I have left him alone, he only pays what he is ordered to pay and I do the rest. It is difficult to raise two children when one has a learning disability. My ex does not seem to care. I am now in the process of having my review. It does take time, and maybe longer in my case because my ex is over seas. It is wrong to only think of yourself... I think of my children, what does my children need... Keep your personal feelings about your ex out of the support process, the children is all that matters.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
texas oag bs
by: Anonymous

I'm getting raped 700 a month for two kids for a person bearly above min wage paying that much yea texas loves the women so get ready guys here it comes with no Lube

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Guidelines are ridiculous
by: Anonymous

One of the biggest problems with the system is that it assigns the worth of a child by what the parent owing support (usually the father) makes. What it takes to support a child has NOTHING WHATSOEVER to do with what either parent makes. It costs about the same to support the basic needs of a child whose parents make $100,000 a year as it does one of parents who make $25,000 a year. There should be an across the board calculation based on a child's age and city/state of residence that is determined to be the amount needed to support a child. It should be split between both parents and the one owing child support should pay half. The amount will go up or down each year depending on the amount determined to be needed for the child's age. If the parents don't make enough, they need to get a job (they decided to have a child; they should be bound to support it) and this includes divorced non-working mothers who seem to believe that the fact that they landed a rich man and had his baby means they should get to sit on their butt all day even though they are no longer married. If the parent owing support makes well more than is required, he/she is more than welcome to treat the child to luxuries beyond the basics but should not be obligated to do so. Our system has created a lot of selfish people and a lot of deprived children. It's completely broken and senseless.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
OAG and grandparents in Texas
by: Anonymous

I am a grandparent that has custody of 2 of my deceased sons children....his wife was a druggie and prostitute.....he traveled so could'nt have them except during summers etc........she, it was up to us, and we always gave her 2 hrs visitation a month, just like CPS....but she didnt come that much........she has since married a man, has now 2 more children......we had to meet at Oag, CAUSE IT was 5 yrs and she hadnt paid her child support....I didnt think she would show up...just like visitation...but she did and had a lawyer..who said she wanted normal visitation..OAG said she had to pay her back pay 15000 plus interest, and increased her 200 a month to 225 due to cost of living....I agreed to adjust 1/2 of her 15000....so they were good to grandparents............and gave her a list of jobs she could get without a GED.........Still havent heard a thing about visitation and it has been 5 monthes.....

Rating
star
Ignorant Texans
by: Anonymous

Sounds like a bunch of rants on both sides based on isolated experiences. Overall, the AOG office is broken and the system is broken. One lesson learned, never provide a "good faith payment" directly to your spouse for child support. Only make payments through the state of you will find youself fighting beaucracy and your greedy ex for years. AOG office clearly does not know how to handle direct payment affidavits which is a BIG problem for parents who send money on good faith.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Stupid
by: Anonymous

Okay, to the person telling everyone to educate themselves, you really are one sided and are very stupid to the whole situation at hand. First of all men who pay child support often get screwed unless they have money to fight. My son had his child taken 500 miles away and he paid his 20% but when he went to court they took 29% of what they called potential income. This means he was behind on child support the day it was set but he had paid 20% of every paycheck since his daughter was born. Plus he has to pay 9% for medical. Oh and he has private insurance and they still make him pay 9% of income because she filed for medicaid. My son has hard time financially which makes it hard to see his daughter at times. So i know first hand what these people are referring too. So get a clue Ms. know it all!

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bad men??!!
by: Anonymous

I'm a women myself and I don't consider my husband a bad man!!! My husband gives what he's suppose to and more!! So bad men?! No honey please think before you write something so stupid. Put yourself in a mans shoes and see how it feels giving $900 dollars a month and more every three years and see where your money goes too?!! Coach purses, new house etc.......!! Not all women are perfect or men

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bad men
by: Anonymous

My question is why did all of you women have children which such bad men?

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Grow up
by: Anonymous

What's sad is how mothers and fathers making child support a game to get back at each other, rather than thinking about what's in the best interest of the children. That's the reason the process is so "nauseating".

Grow up all of you.


Rating
starstarstarstarstar
review coming up
by: mr moss

Got the letter in december 2011 doing a review over the phone march 2012. she has one son with me and another son with another man. she's never been married. she does work and I don't owe any back support all paid in full. We were doing it off the books for a couple of years then she started getting friendly over the phone and my wife found out (sending nude pics of herself)and she went back to the state. so, now of course they will raise the monthly. I don't mind but, I'm not sure what to say or how to say it to her. started new job 8 months ago. do I tell the courts that info? also, do I get to talk to her over the phone? maybe I need to call her early and talk. I don't really see the boy much my wife and I really don't want him in our lives. he's a nice kid but we don't want children.
8 more years of this. and he's grown. mr moss

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
It's is difficult in Texas
by: Anonymous

I have a hearing for child support coming up in January. I'm not a deadbeat dad by any means. My ex and I have our son pretty much 50/50. We were just in the office in July where she signed off on not wanting CS. Now since she refiled I'm getting screwed in the whole ordeal now. I give her money every month, buy his clothes or whatever else he needs already. Though the negotiator didn't give 2 cents about it. Since she filed and she get listed as the custodial parent and I as the Jon custodial she had the power. I plan on fighting this not because of the money necessarily but because the time I will lose if ordered by court. But if I would've filed it would've been in my favor. They clearly ate biased in the negotiation process due to the fact of who files first.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Compromise
by: Anonymous

Seems to me that what is decided and agreed between parents should supersede any need for a review that is determined by the OAG. However, if the parents cannot agree on changes that actually are in the best interest of the child,not changes that benefit them in a monetary way, then they just need get an attorney and file a motion to modify and go from there. Any change will have to go before a judge, um hello,for judgement. His decision is the only one that can change any court order. So,as another father/ victim would say, forego agreeing or signing ANYTHING at the OAG,and head directly to an attorney,or better yet go to an attorney BEFORE going to the OAG. READ,READ,READ the Fine Print!!! Always. If it looks like they are doing you a favor,think again buddy,it's never for you. Time for Texas to "Review" it's self!


Rating
starstarstarstar
Support...What support?
by: BeProActive!

I for one am a single mother,I went to the AG's office 6 years ago to have them help with my case, the "sperm doner" then decided that he wanted to sue me for full custody of our son which he has only seen once in 9 years and my son is only 9, so you do the math. The judge laughed and said "no". Well I have been battling this for years as he is out of state and the state of Texas is only worried about the State of Texas dont you think they would get there heads out of their butts and give Support where it is needed.Get all these deadbeat so called mothers or fathers that dont take care of their responsibilites in jail or something. I get the run around each time I am on the phone with the AG's Office, they cant give me answers on my own case, they cant seem to take information down that I want to update of new employement of my sons "sperm doner". Its seems to get me no where when I call. I have attorney bills out the wazoo all due to his stupidity for going to court! I wish the system would work more efficently and be more PRO ACTIVE instead of being INACTIVE with getting cases solved and closed!

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Dear, Dear Stupid.
by: Anonymous

Ok you say the AG's office sets a straight 20%, well not the case. The legislature sets the guidelines. So before you go in pointing the finger at people or agencies, do your research. The AG's office just follows TX law, if you have an issue with it talk to your state legislature representative. Second your comment completely contradicts itself. You say that you can not afford to pay your child support, and if you pay your child support you can't afford to visit your child(ren), but then you say if the custodial parent can't afford to raise the children by his/her self they should give custody over to the parent that can. HA! Do you really think that your measly 20% is going to raise a child. IT IS JUST A CONTRIBUTION. It takes 100% to actually raise the child. Trust me I'm not trying to bash anyone, I just feel like an educated person will always win. Educate yourself about the process before you come on here ranting and raving, then maybe you'll get something accomplished.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Custodial Grandparent recieved this letter
by: Anonymous

We are grandparents that have had custody of our 6 and 7 yrs old grandchildren for the last 5 years. The children were taken away from the mother when the youngest was born...she had drugs in her system... Our son helped us with daycare etc...til he died...she was to pay 200 a month, but has never paid anything. We are retired and on social securtiy. We just recieved one of these letters I would assume since it has been 5 years and the mother has never paid any child support....We sure dont have the money for a lawyer now.....but are so attached to the children....the mother hasnt done anything thing the court has requested.....get her GED, parenting classes....so forth....she was married by her ordained minister father in law...so I imagine not on record in Texas and now has a 6 month and a 1 1/2 baby....I have let her call the children every Sunday....and see them once a month, unless it is spring (our fishing time) or Summer (when we go to the lake and vacations)
Wonder what we should expect??

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Reversed roles
by: Anonymous

I am a custodial father in Texas, mom lives in pa. When she got behind a little bit in cs I received info of two jobs she was working, kids just got back from summer visit with her got two different stories that mom
Only works one job, and mom works two, well I
Asked for a review she pays 240 a month for 3 kids sees them prob 55 days a year. When I got my appt time it also asked for me to bring my paystubs, I'm military, are they going to decide what she pays from my pay and bah?

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
State of Texas
by: Anonymous

I have had a very pleasant experience with the State of Texas Child Support services. My son's dad lives in California and thought he was going to leave me high and dry for the first yr of my son's life. I took him to court and he now owes me 11k in back child support and I get a decent amount every month to at least cover daycare and then some. He had given me 1000.00 a month for 3 months straight off the record before he quit paying, when I went to court they said they could not give him credit for that unless he gave them bank statements proving it. He would NOT call me back ( he was mad because i took him to court) so that was 3k out of his pocket undocumented, and he wanted to blame me and the state of Tx. They were very professional and got my son and I what we needed monthly based on his dad's salary. So overall I am very impressed and truly believe that the state of Tx frowns upon dead beat parents whether its men or woman. They should be frowned upon, do not have children if you don't want to support them. Just my opinion.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Dear Stupid.
by: Anonymous

First off the AG's office is to blame you base amounts on income but yet you do not include the other parents income it is just a straight 20 percent! Then without warning you take out amounts without even going to court or say that we should have been paying this amount months ago and put us behind and charge outrages percentage rates! Then we can no longer visit are children because we can't afford to but the AG office does not care about that. They are only out to make money. What's best for the child might be with the parent that makes more money and does not need the states assistance. If your primary parent that you should primarly take care of the child if you can't then maybe you need to give them to the other patent who primarly can!

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
BULL*****
by: MITCH

well, let me start by saying that the great dads in the state of texas are getting screwed. the reason that i say that is because my ex-wife, who has remarried is wanting more money for the simple fact that im doing a lot better without her. i really think that there should be a law that would give us "good fathers" a break. you get screwed because you still pay child support on summers while they are with you..im tired of typing..lol..

Rating
star
Stupid...
by: Anonymous

Wow, I am pretty experienced when it comes to family law, and child support policy and procedures in TX. And let me tell you all, that the ridiculous things that you have said on this page scare me. It scares me that you really think the AG's office is out to get you. Really? The AG's office represents the state of TX, not either party on a case. Also the Ag's office does not have the authority to order anything. An order can only be signed by a judge. If you dont like what a child support officer says in a CSRP ask for the case to be filed judicially. Duh... Also no, stupid people that talk about custody or visitation, the AG's office can not help you with that. Because they only represent the STATE OF TX, not either party so they can not get involved in those issues. And guy that talked about not being able to get his kids when the mother went to mexico. That is because most orders in TX state that whoever is the "custodial parent" is given the right to determine where they live. The orders don't say they have to live with the "custodial parent", the custodial parent has a right to decide where they live, with or with out them. And yes you would have to hire a private atty to fight that, because, once again, the AG's office only represents the STATE OF TX, and can not help you fight for custody. If everyone who stop trying to point the finger at people, and handle things themselves, they would actually get things done. Instead of letting things happen, and just coming on here and whinning about it, as if there was nothing they could do.
PEOPLE! Do your research!

Rating
starstarstar
This just plain sucks
by: Anonymous

I feel for the fathers out there who are bled dry by lazy mothers who don't want to work. I also feel for the mothers, like myself, who work our butts of to support our kids, while their worthless fathers avoid supporting their kids. My ex, as ordered in our divorce decree, is supposed to pay $300 per month, plus provide medical insurance for our daughter. I enlisted the help of the AG's office so I wouldn't have to fight with him every month over him paying child support. I thought this way I wouldn't have to deal with him for money matters. Well, the POS hasn't had a real job in about six years. When I say real job, I mean one where he pays taxes, and where his $300 can be witheld from his paycheck. Instead, he has loafed around for the past several years, living off the inheritance that he got when his father passed away. Now that he has successfully blown all that money, he has returned to working contract jobs for cash "under the table". Needless to say, I have to call him constantly to ask where his child support payments are. I thought this was the attorney general's job? And forget about them enforcing anything, other than everyone's perception that they're incompetant.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CHild Support from a RET. Navy man to a child in Puerto Rico
by: Anonymous

I am a single mother currently living in PR with a 13 yr old daughter who father is a Ret Navy man. This man has never even may an attempt to see his daughter nevertheless paid Child support. It took more than 10 yrs to fight for child support when she finally received it. It was $128 a month; a am a single mother who work as a teacher and who lost her house three yrs a go due to a river over flood (natural disaster) i did what i was suppost to do struggle like crazy and i had some really hard time getting back together but i manage with no help from him. My daughter is a talented young lady with high goals in her life she is a professional dancer, a talented gifted students, well known in the commnnity as a responsible and resectable young lady. In Dec 2010 i receive the child support review letter which i held on to it untill Mar 2011 because i was still undecisive about it and when i finally did sent it back with all the proofs adn paper work i was never contacted or anyqthing am still wondering what happen. Now i ask if 128 dollars a month enough for a young lady to live. Its fair for such a wonderfull kid to struggle? A am a mother who work and live for my child she the most important person in my life. What ever money is sent to her it will be use only for her? If child support is a chaos for those tha live in Texas can you imagen how unfair is for those that live out of Texas in a spanish speaking island.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
One My Own from the beginning
by: Anonymous

Hey Non Custodial parents...listen I have been doing this from day one alone. Not all guys are dedicated like "some"of you. Just because a guy says he doesn't want a be a dad it doesn't just stop. I knew the job I had when I was pregnant wasn't going to be enough, so I went on corporate interviews 7 months pregnant. At the same time my job was demoting me for getting pregnant. I finally got a high paying job and the NCP was mad I didn't get an abortion. He has never tried to see his child. Owes over $5000 in child support only pays garnished wages of 220. No more or less. The child is on my insurance. I do everything. The child is only a yr and half. I believe this is a blessing....my child will know doing the right thing without complaining is a better pay off than chump change and aggression.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Lazy mothers
by: Anonymous

My husband's ex get's part time low paying jobs so she can get a tax return. Meanwhile, he pays almost 50% of his income to her. The insurance rates are too high and he has to pay the state arrears for her being on section 8 because she is too lazy to get a job. She could go be a checker at Walmart (although she has the potential to ear 40k-50k)and help in some way. But instead, she lives on section 8, gets food stamps, buys the kids clothes from goodwill and uses his money to pay the bills. So she is living 100% free...this is the problem. The state should require her to work and support her kids the same way it expects fathers to do. All she has to do is go to the workforce center and prove she's filled out x amount of applications a month. If we could afford to leave this country, we would.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
The whole support process is a crock
by: Anonymous

A state modified a support order without jurisdiction because neither party lived in that state and "fraud upon the court" by that state's court referee was committed. All legal aspect of that support order is void but that state reassigned the order to TX. TX is fully aware the order is invalid and that the modification of the support amount was done illegally. TX is trying to enforce an Order that isn't valid. There are so many case laws which clearly shows that judgments rendered by a court that does not have jurisdiction is void. "Fraud upon the court" makes void the orders and judgments of that court.
An administrative Review was requested through an Attorney no less, but yet TX has done nothing about it, it has been close to twelve (12) months since the Administrative Review was requested.
A downward support modification was also requested over 6 months ago to TX because they legally have the jurisdiction to manage/hear the case for a modification. The TX case worker had the gall to say that an attorney had better be hired to request the Administrative Review and to Request the downward support modification. WTH, if one can NOT make the monthly support payments how insane is it to tell parties to hire an attorney.
The whole support system is hosed!!! Telling someone that they are a deadbeat dad or mother (if the case maybe) because they can't afford the monthly payments and have tried for over a year to get the monthly payments reduced, is INSANE.


Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Review Process is a Joke
by: Anonymous

I am a single father that takes care of his three awsome kids. My ex and I have joint custody but unfortunatly she has primary. But I do have the kids every day, I pick them up from school and drop them off at there mothers house Three days a week and I keep them the rest of the week. I buy all there clothes and other things they need. A few weeks ago I got notice from the AOG that my support Child support case was being reviewed. When I went to the review meeting I found myself being called a dead beat dad by the AOG and even though me and the ex were in agreement on what I pay each month (Mind you I do have them Most of the time) the AOG was trying to talk her in to raising my child support and basically telling me Im a liar. The review process is a joke there is no nogotation it is the AOG sitting there thinking they know what goes on in your personall life and they make judgements against you. My advice is if you get a notice of review hire a lawyer quick.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Opinions please
by: Anonymous

I need some feedback. My husband pays $800 in CS each month, well my step daughter who I love very much is now planning her 15th (quincenera) and her mom wants limo, hall,shoes hair,dress,food,drinks,etc oh and hire someone to teach the court how to dance(the quart in the quincenera) she then told my husband he needs to pay half which my husband never agreed to help pay for in the CS papers it states he pay his CS and pay half of medical expenses that's all. She has also told my husband that she will be taking him back for more money when it's time to go cause in the state of Texas you can go every 3 years for an increase witch she has done so every time so now I'm assuming it will go up to $1000 dollars when she goes again. The question is should my husband pay half of this party expense that will cost around $6500

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
18 not 21!
by: Anonymous

If you are having a hard time providing for your child and the other parent has a better living then maybe the custodial parent needs to hand over custody. For the fact of education how come my parents were not required to pay my college education? There is a reason why you turn 18! You become an adult I was the one who paid for my own education because my parents could not most of all my friends either had scholoarships and loans to help get them an education. You should not be told you have to pay until they are 21! Then all parents not just divorced parents should be required! I think kids now get to many things handed to them and should help pay for their own education trust me I appreciate mine more. Also when I turned 16 I got what they call a job to buy things for myself instead of my parents paying everything. Kids just don't just want money they want attention. When you make them a paycheck every month you degrade them. That is why so many people just run away. The courts should do it case by case not just a standard! Texas is a joke when it comes to child support!

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
IS THIS FAIR???
by: Anonymous

MY HUSBAND HAS BEEN PAYING CHILD SUPPORT FOR YEARS FOR A CHILD HE HAS NEVER MET. THIS CHILD IS NOW ABOUT 24YRS OLD. HE FOUND ABOUT HIS DAUGHTER WHEN SHE WAS 13YRS OLD. BY THEN HE OWED ABOUT $30,000 IN BACK CHILD SUPPORT. WTH!!! HE DID HAVE REQUEST A PATERNITY TEST (HE WAS TOLD BY THE PERSON HE SPOKE TO ON THE PHONE THAT HE WAS THE 3RD TRY!)HE IS A HARD WORKER, HE WORKS A MINIMUM WAGE JOB AND HAS ALWAYS MADE HIS MONTHLY PAYMENTS. I AM JUST FRUSTRATED BECAUSE WE WILL BE PAYING CHILD SUPPORT FOR THE REST OF HIS LIFE. WHY IS HE RESPONSIBLE FOR SO MUCH IF HE WAS NEVER TOLD ABOUT THE CHILD UNTIL SHE WAS 13? WE FIGURED MY HUSBAND WAS 16YRS OLD AND THE CHILD'S MOTHER WAS 19YRS OLD WHEN THE CHILD WAS CONCEIVED. HMMM...MAYBE THAT'S WHY SHE NEVER TOLD HIM. (STATUTORY RAPE???)

Rating
starstarstarstar
College education
by: Anonymous

Texas Child support is hard?? find out in Massachusets. The Child Support ends at 21 not 18.
I am raising my 16 yo daughter since she was 8 and receiving 1,200.00 a month why? Because her dad has a good income and fair is that she can live to the same standars he does. As one of the mother's in this panel said there is a long list of everyday expenses to cover for the custodial parent and most important the time and dedication you invest on your child. No everybody is an irresponsible and lazy mother trying to live out of somebody else's money. Lots of decent mothers raising good kids exists in Texas.
Your responsibility is more than financial. the law can not enforce a father to give them time, care, spiritual direction and good moral example. But sure they can enforce them to pay for their education and food.
People in the state of Massachusets rised the age to stop the child support. We can do it in Texas as well if we start talking or writing to our legislators.
My goal is that the non custodial parent be responsible of 50% of the college tuition and other expenses for 4 full school years.
We want more educated citizens? We need the state help for that to happens!

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Texas Child Support
by: TiredofTexasLaws

Everyone so far is right in there own part except those of you who will not WORK! There are mom's out there wanting to live on Child Support and Gov. They dont want to work, if they do it is for a couple of days a week just enough to get an Income Tax at the end of the year. There is plenty of Fathers who have custody of the children and have to work. Texas Laws suck. First they said 18 or until the child graduates which ever comes first now its only until they graduate or turn 18 whichever comes last...the ex held 2 of the children back and they are Gifted and Talented Students, how is that and got 2 more years. My court order says whichever comes first shouldnt they go by the court order? No in Texas they can remodify your court order anytime it pleases them. Money is all people fight over, at least she did. What did I get? Nothing not even my 4 children. I cannot see them, because the mom put alot of things in there head. MY daughter even got sexually abused by the boyfriend which after getting arrested and thrown back to Mexico she goes after him to live with him for 6 months and my kids were spread around to aunts and uncles. When I went for them because they were abandonded by the mom the cops said it would be kidnapping. Oh yea the mom was still sneaking back just to pick up the child support check. When reported to the State what did they do? "Sorry sir we dont deal w/custody concerns get a lawyer, and by the way your wages increased and so will the child support payment." I got a lawyer and NOTHING the state won. My kids were turned by the mom and decided to stay w/her when she came back from mexico. Oh Yea she took my daughter to a church to ask for forgiveness to the boyfriend because she was marrying him. Sexual Abuse! all I get is a child support increase. There is so many fathers in Texas that suffer the same. Why do some not pay or go to another state? Because Texas does not care if you see the child or what happens to the child only that you pay! Mothers are not enforced to work in Texas, because no one said if you got married and had children you did not have to work. Lazy People who dont want more but to continue living in the past. Oh yea we got divorced because she told me 2 children were not mine and I caught her cheating. WHAT! Responsiblity should be of BOTH parents if people cannot handle working and having kids they should of thought about that before they had them.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
What is the deal!
by: Anonymous

If you have been going for years and paying what you are suppose too then why should the state of Texas come in and do a review. I can not even see my child because her mother always has something come up and now my 12 year old say's she wants nothing to do with me and calls my Ex's live in boyfriend "who she has had for the last 7 years" Daddy. The only time they even call me is for more money for this and that and it is not even my 12 year old calling me it is her mother. I do not wish to talk to her at all unless it is an emergency. I don't even have a relationship with my daughter. I am just a paycheck. Her mother trapped me with this child after I told her over and over I did not want any children. She lied to me and said she was taking her birth control. The woman has three choices To Keep, To abort, or Adopt. Men have none! We are just to pay. I tried to do right and this is what I get. Thanks State of Texas you make a child's 18th birthday a payoff then to watch them grow!

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
OAG needs to step up
by: Anonymous

I'm located in Central Texas raising my 2 children, I am the custodial parent. My ex-husband lives in Florida, therefore it is an "interstate case". Per the court order, he is suppose to be paying $1000 a month based on his income and the amount of time he spends with the children (5% annually). But he only sends maybe $50 a month in child support if I'm lucky. He is currenly over $45,000 in the arrear!!! However, what is the staate doing? Oh we took his license, put it on his credit report and he can't get a passport. WHOOPTY-FREAKING-DOO, but do you see him on a wanted list or behind bars, no, because that $50 a month for 2 kids, which is only 4% of what he is actually suppose to pay. But best believe if I matched his contribution of $50 child services would have already taken the kids for neglect, but the state calls their lack of actions "enforcement"

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Why do resentful mothers miss their half?
by: Okie

So often I see/hear comments such as one above that says something like, "My ex-husband only pays me $xxx per month - how can anyone think that's enough to pay for x hungry mouth(s)?!? It costs more than that to raise a child!"

It seems that what these women (and some men) fail to remember is that THEY ALSO share part of the financial obligation of raising their child(ren) - whether or not they are working. No, the $500 I pay in child support each month may not be enough BY ITSELF to raise our child, but combined with the money she earns (or could earn), it's more than enough.

Yes, as the father I bear responsibility for providing for my child, but I don't bear ALL of the responsibility. If it's too much for her, she can always sign custody over to me and pay ME child support.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
$54 a month, really?
by: Anonymous

I divorced my ex-idiot in Muskegon, MI where his only concern was the amount of child support he would pay, not visitation. He managed to get it dropped from $337 a month for two kids to $54 a month. I have received occasional payments until last August. In May of this year I received $8.61 and then again in July.

I have been working full time and going to school full time since 2005. I have no family to assist in any way so the kids have had to suffer financially and emotionally because I have been stretched too thin to give them the attention they deserve.

This nasty man has other children he's abandoned that I didn't find out about until after we had been married. If the website would function properly, I could file for a review. $54 a month and he won't pay that.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Seriously?
by:

Yes, child support sucks...but both ways. Think if you were to raise the kids on a single income without any additional help. It would be tough depending on your salary. I have been a single mom with three children and believe me those child support payments help pay the electric here in Texas and feed three boys. My first spouse (2 of the boys) decided that he didn't understand monogamy so I divorced him and pays a whopping $400 a month in child support. You try and feed two growing boys on $400 a month and they are both in school. And they grow. And eat and eat and eat. This $400 is not enough to cover school lunches and after school care. (This is Minnesota child support by the way). My next ex was a pharmacist. He decided to not disclose another wife in another country, so that was a problem when I found out. So based on his income and lifestyle, he should pay more in child support than someone working at McDonald's. He pays the 20%. This child is still in daycare. Do any of you know how expensive daycare is for single parents? The 20% of your money that you pay for a child is really not that much unless you're Bill Gates or making bank. The whole thing goes back to the issue that started it... the divorce. The child(ren) are the ones that end up with the short end of the stick on this one.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Robbery
by: Anonymous

What so many people that get child support don't seem to understand is those that pay don't live in a one bedroom apartment and then when the kids come over, get a hotel big enough for everyone to stay in. That parent still has to maintain a household for the kids and have food for them when they come. How much extra food does it really take! You don't go to the store and buy just enough food for yourself. You still have to buy that same 1.5 pounds of ground beef and that pack of pork chops that you already bought. I myself still took the kids school clothes shopping, on vacations, ect, yet those expenses are not supplemented by my ex nor do they count as paid support. So please do not say that $600 goes to this and that because the non custodial parent that sees their kids, pay just as much with no help. Try paying the equivalent of 2 mortgages and 2 car payments then post your complaints. The flat %20 of your pay in TX is totally ridiculous and it needs to be based on the childs needs based on what the parents make. I'm sorry but a person making 2000 a month and has to pay 500 of that is robbery.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Duty... that door swings two ways.
by: Saddened

You know as a single divorced mother of two growing boys and the custodial parent, I find the whole child support process nauseating. The vast majority of women out there that are receiving child support bash the fathers and consistently try to get more money as often as possible. Well guess what ladies, you had a part in having those children too. Draining their fathers for every dime in an attempt to not have to find a real job is sad. I work two jobs, take care of my boys and receive 500.00 a month in child support. I make it work and do not receive any government assistance. Parents need to stop seeing there children as dollar signs. There are women who cant even locate the fathers for payment and fathers who go above and beyond. Get a job, move on and teach your children courage and responsibility. Right now, your just teaching them dependency and weakness. Be fair for everyone's sake.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Fishy...?
by: MMM

Fishy, you should have thought of that when you decided to have a child. Some people never realize that child support is not extra money to go play with. Its for the good of your child. There's more to being a father/mother than just making a child. Its a 24/7 relationship, the custodial parent is virtually in charge of food (snacks, breakfast, lunch, dinner, school lunch), clothing, shoes, toiletries, electricity/water, entertainment, haircuts, medicines, dr visits, time off work with sick child, daycare, birthday parties, extracurricular activities, and the list goes on and on, try living in those shoes before you judge where that money goes! So that's where your $20 a day goes, its not party money. That is if she/he is lucky enough to get $600 a month. So sorry no one wants to hear your whining.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Let me tell you about duty
by: Anonymous

I am in the service, ended up divorced and lost my kid and was assesed child support. all while i was in the Middle East. The child support was assesed as 5% of what i was making over there, to include: Hostile fire pay, Emminent danger pay, Overseas Cost of living allowance, adjusted living allowance (difference in market value of the Dollar to the Dinar). I have since gotten rotated to a teaching position back stateside, in other words I get only Base pay of about 3000 and 250 for groceries. out of that i still pay 750. i have a new wife and two children in diapers right now, and the ex will not agree to a lessor amount, and she moved the kid out of state without written concent. I don't have the 1500-3000 retainer to get a motion in TX to have them tell me that the case has to be moved to CO where i have to pay a different lawyer. I would like to have a CSRP, but got no idea where to begin, and i don't want to get ripped off even more by the ex. So yes, I do my duty and then some, for both my country and my kids!

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Call it your duty, my a$$
by: Anonymous

Listen, I got reviewed 2 months ago, and they're asking that I go back to the "review process" again in March. Yes, they think they can get more money even though I conceded an increase 2 months ago and the custodial parent signed.

So, yeah, watch your tail buddy. I also waived 5K off of overpayments she's received and for what? Nothing... They're taking me back and all my concessions were for nothing, so yeah, fight them every time or you will get screwed. Concessions and olive branches go out the window when the AG gets involved. They get federal compensation and agents get commissions based on how much money they can get from non-custodial parents. Remember this... Check the wording in agreements very carefully.

IF IT LOOKS FISHY... IT PROBABLY IS, words like "she might not", "she may not be able to", should say "she cannot", "she will not be able to". Trust me. Screw you lady on what you think 'our rights' are.

Rating
starstarstarstarstar
wrong!!!
by: Anonymous

no...I call it your duty!!!!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Texas Child Support Law.